top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristine England

Camilo Séptimo

Camilo Séptimo
Camilo Séptimo

The three members of Camilo Séptimo played in various bands as part of Mexico’s indie music scene before forming in 2013. Singer Manuel Mendoza (bass), Erik Vásquez (guitar) and Jonathan Meléndez (keyboards) create a synth-heavy, electronic music which is the culmination of their varied experiences.

Mendoza’s early work in his home studio formed the basis of the band’s first release, a single entitled “Portales.” Reviews touted the group’s melodious approach and nostalgic production values. In October, of 2014, they followed up with the five-track EP, Maya, which included the single as well as four new songs.

In 2016, the band headed to Costa Rico to record its most recent album, Óleos, released on 2017. In support of Óleos, the group played in front of enthusiastic fans at the Metropólitan Theater and the Vive Latino festival among venues. Camilo Séptimo remains at the forefront of a thriving indie scene and is likely to offer compelling music in the days to come.




bottom of page